The little guide to astrology for dummies (A Series)

Astrology is definitely "fashionable" right now. It may be in vogue right now. It's not easy to understand when you don't know anything about it.

In fact, it’s super interesting when you start doing research. Would I take everything astrology tells us as "cash"? No. But if we take the information with a little grain of salt. It can definitely help us with the self-awareness and ultimately our personal development.

If you want to be able to follow the discussions and be part of the gang, it takes you at least a little basic in astrology ;). That's why I'm starting a little series called "Astrology 101" which will detail everything you need to know about astrology!

So, if you want to learn more about it, but feel completely clueless. No problem, this little simplified guide is here for that!

astrology in history

Let's start with the beginning. Astrology is based on stars, constellations, planets and their position in space. The concept is not new. Indeed, it was the Babylonians who created the zodiac by dividing the sky into 12 sections. The zodiac calendar was used to give the weather and certain predictions. These would have made a correlation between the positioning of the planets and certain positive / negative events.

A few hundred years later, the Romans adopted the zodiac theory and added their folk sciences and concepts to it. Subsequently, astrology was used for hundreds of years in fields such as philosophy, science, medicine, and magic!

The planets (an introduction)

In order to be able to obtain better self-knowledge through astrology, we must first know that it was the chart of the sky when we were born. In all and everywhere, this one describes to us the way in which the planets were positioned at the time of our birth. According to the theory, this positioning would have a direct effect on our personality and day-to-day way of being.

The planets represent various aspects of our personality. These will then be defined by the signs of the zodiac which have their very distinct personality traits. Here is a very refined list detailing the influence that the planets have on us.

The sun

Our sun represents the heart of our personality. It represents our ego, our self-image as well as our " personal power ". Indeed, the sun is also our primary zodiac sign. If you ask someone what their astrological sign is, they will answer you by sharing their sun sign.

The moon

Our moon refers to our inner self. It represents how we deal with our emotions, mood, sensitivity, feelings and more.


In astrology, Mercury represents intelligence, logical thinking and communication.


As expected, Venus represents beauty, creativity, and balance. Venus also refers to how we manage our interpersonal relationships and love.


The planet Jupiter refers to the personality traits of cheerfulness, resilience, confidence and vitality.


Saturn represents more abstract aspects of personality such as self-discipline, self-respect, faith in one's destiny, and peace with loneliness.


Uranus is even more abstract. It represents our individuality, our capacity for authority, etc.


Neptune refers to our consciousness and our sensitivity


Pluto (although it is no longer considered a planet in current science), represents the realization of one's destiny, dreams, vision, conquest, transformation and the search for meaning.


Finally, Mars refers to our level of aggression, willpower, assertiveness, freedom, independence, and enthusiasm.

So ! For now, that's plenty of information. Later in the series, I will do an article entirely dedicated to the planets in order to detail their meanings in depth.

Signs (an introduction)

Most astrological predictions are based on the signs of the zodiac. These signs are ruled by the four elements: water, fire, air, and earth. This means that signs ruled by the same elements will have common traits (but those are articles for another time).

Everyone has archetypes and modes. The archetypes are representative models of the signs, they are also universal symbols used to illustrate the signs. The modes designate a period of the season. There are three: Cardinal (early season), fixed (mid-season), and mutable (late season). These are intimately associated with the houses that are related to them. We will not discuss the subject of houses in this article.

Without further ado, here is a brief list of signs detailing their pillars.


March 21-April 20

Element: Fire

Mode : Cardinal

Archetypes: The Warrior, The Pioneer, The Daredevil, The Survivor

The Aries person will be someone dynamic, volatile, competitive and courageous.


April 21 — May 20

Element: Earth

Fashion: Fix

Archetypes: The Earth Spirit, The Musician, The Silent

The person with the Taurus sign will be someone creative, quiet and reliable.


May 21 — June 21

Element: Air

Mode : mutable

Archetypes: The Witness, The Teacher, The Storyteller, The Reporter

Geminis are observant, communicative, curious, intelligent and expressive.


June 21 — July 22

Element: Water

Mode : Cardinal

Archetypes: The Mother, The Healer, The Invisible Man/Woman

A Cancer-type person will be kind, imaginative, sensitive, compassionate, and protective.


July 23 — August 22

Element: Fire

Fashion: Fix

Archetypes: The King/Queen The Performer, The Child, The Clown

Leos will have a lot of personality, they will be charismatic, outgoing and proud.


August 23 — September 22

Element: Earth

Mode : mutable

Archetypes: The Servant, The Martyr, The Perfectionist, The Analyst

A person with the Virgo sign will be practical, loyal, perfectionist, detailed and analytical.


September 23 — October 22

Element: Air

Mode : Cardinal

Archetypes: The Lover, The Artist, The Peacemaker

Here are keywords that describe the essence of Libra well: peace, harmony, balance, beauty, paradox, calm, diplomatic, graceful


October 23 — November 22

Element: Water

Fashion: Fix

Archetypes: Detective, Sorcerer, Hypnotist

Scorpios are intense, passionate, stubborn, resourceful and introspective people.


November 23 — December 21

Element: Fire

Mode : mutable

Archetypes: The Gypsy, The Student, The Philosopher

Sagittarians are adventurous, optimistic, funny, generous and constantly on the lookout for something new.


December 22 — January 20

Element: Earth

Mode : Cardinal

Archetypes: Hermit, Father, Prime Minister

A person with the Capricorn sign will be honest, patient, practical, disciplined, serious and independent.


January 21 — February 19

Element: Air

Fashion: Fix

Archetypes: The Genius, The Revolutionary, The Truth, The Scientist, The Exile

Aquarians love freedom, individuality, and truth. They are imaginative and original.


February 20 — March 20

Element: Water

Mode : mutable

Archetypes: The Mystic, The Dreamer, The Poet

A person with the Pisces sign will be gentle, wise, artistic, empathetic and aware of their surroundings.

A good basis!

That's enough for today, I think! I will do a more detailed article on the signs later in the series. In the meantime, have fun researching your sun sign and its planets. The results might surprise you!

Astrology is fascinating, and above all very interesting for self-introspection. However, remember to take it all with a grain of salt and have fun.





Become Zen